Tanja SONC


Tanja Sonc belongs to the young generation of gifted Slovene violinists. She has received numerous awards and first prizes at national and international competitions.
In 2011 she won the Brahms Competition in Portschach, Austria and in 2012, the Ferdo Livadic International Competition for young Musicians (Croatia). Furlhermore she was the absolute winner of the Young Virtuoso – Etudes and Scales Competition held inZagreb, and she got first prize at the national Temsig Competition in Slovenia (2009). In May 2015 she was awarded 3rd prize in the Kiwanis Competition in Zurich.
Tanja started her music education at the age of five. After studying with Primoz Novsak at the Academy of Music in Ljubljana, she continued at the Mozarteum in Salzburg with Igor Ozim and Wonji Kim Ozim. She currently studies with Nora Chastain at the Zirich University of the Arts. In 2012/3 she was accepted as a trainee at the Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich. As a soloist, Tanja Sonc has performed in many countries such as in Slovenia, Croatia, Italy, Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, Austria, France, the USA and the Czech Republic, playing with the Slovenian Philharmonic Orchestra, the Slovenian RTV Symphony Orchestra, the Slovenian Philharmonic Charirber Orchestra, the Croatian RTV Symphony Orchestra and many others. She has collaborated with renowned conductors such as Marko Letonja, George Pehlivanian, Keri Lynn Wilson, Loris Voltolini, Tomislav Facini, Simon Dvorsak, Petko Dimitrov. Tanja participated in the Seiji Ozawa International Academy, Hohenstaufen Chamber Music Academy, Kronberg Masterclass and in the International Musicians Seminar at Prussia Cove.
She is an Artist in Residence in the “Molaeb Festival For Chamber Music And Fine Arts” in Lebanon.
In 2016 she founded the “Sonc Festival”, a chamber music festival in Slovenia.
Tanja Sonc was awarded a three-year scholarship from Notenstein’s La Roche Privatbank Young Musicians Programme, a scholarship of Live Music Now Switzerland and Villa Musica Rheinland-Pfalz (2017 -2019). She is a protege of Gallus Foundation.
Prvi izlučni krug
J. S. Bach: Grave i fuga iz 2. sonate za violinu solo u a – molu, BWV 1003
N. Paganini: Dva capriccia iz op. 1 za violinu solo: 22, 23
F. Krežma: Scherzino za violinu solo (arr. by G. Končar)

Drugi izlučni krug
W. A. Mozart: Prvi stavak koncerta za violinu i orkestar u D – duru, KV 218
C. Franck: Sonata za violinu i glasovir u A – duru
P. I. Čajkovski: Vals scherzo op. 34 u C – duru

P. I. Čajkovski: Koncert za violinu i orkestar, op. 35 u D – duru