Elly SUH

SAD, 1989.

Korean-American violinist Elly Suh was recently named the 1st prize winner of the 2016 Oleh Krysa International Violin Competition in Lviv, Ukraine, as well as a top prize winner in the Premio Paganini International Violin Competition (Italy, 2015), Michael Hill International Violin Competition (New Zealand, 2015), Moscow International David Oistrakh Violin Competition (Russia, 2013), and the Naumburg International Violin Competition (USA, 2012).  She has also received awards from the Society for Strings and the National Foundation for the Advancement of the Arts (YoungArts), and has appeared on PBS’s Live from Lincoln Center and NPR’s From the Top.
Praised as “a sensitive and absorbing interpreter” (Musical America), Elly has performed at the Pro Arte Musical “Young Virtuosos Series,” the Atlantic Music Festival, Banff International Masterclasses, the Chamber Music Workshop at the Perlman Music Program, the Taos School of Music, and the Meadowmount School of Music. As a founding member of the Northway Quintet, together with the ensemble she received the silver medal at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition in Indiana, USA. Elly regularly performs with the New York Classical Players and the Grammy-nominated Metropolis Ensemble. She has also appeared as a guest artist with the East Coast Chamber Orchestra (ECCO) and the East Coast Contemporary Ensemble, and performed as guest concertmaster with the American Ballet Theatre Orchestra in New York City.
Born in Seoul, South Korea, Elly began violin lessons at age five and entered the Juilliard Pre-College Division at the age of ten. She received her Bachelor and Master of Music degrees from The Juilliard School and a Professional Studies Certificate from the Manhattan School of Music, where her teachers included Robert Mann, Joel Smirnoff, and Sally Thomas. Since 2015 Elly is a Postgraduate Diploma candidate at the Mozarteum University of Salzburg in the class of Professor Pierre Amoyal.
Prvi izlučni krug
J. S. Bach: Adagio i fuga iz 3. sonate za violinu solo u C – duru, BWV 1005
N. Paganini: Dva capriccia iz op. 1 za violinu solo: 5, 11
F. Krežma: Scherzino za violinu solo (arr. by G. Končar)

Drugi izlučni krug
W. A. Mozart: Prvi stavak koncerta za violinu i orkestar u A – duru, KV 219
M. Ravel: Sonata za violinu i glasovir u G-duru br. 2
M. Ravel: Tzigane

J. Brahms: Koncert za violinu i orkestar, op. 77 u D – duru